SPEAK
A regenerated mind overflows with the Word of God.

It is a mind that sees nothing of value in this world and consequently counts all things as nothing compared to the joy of knowing Christ and being in His Kingdom. Such a mind is not moved by anything else but Christ and all about Him. He holds on to nothing and “loves not his life so much as to shrink from death”. (Revelation 12:11c)

A regenerated mind is wholly and completely offered as sacrifice to God; he does not live for himself but for the Lord, acknowledging that the life he lives is not his but Christ that lives in him. 

A regenerated mind thrives on the Word of God and upon it does he meditate day and night. When he opens his mouth, nothing else but the Word of God overflows from it.    

“My heart was hot within me, while I was musing the fire burned: then I spoke with my tongue.” (Psalms 39:3).



The regenerated mind does not speak anyhow. Neither does it speak or respond to everything it hears. He weighs what he hears (musing)…

“(Oh, I know, I have been rash to talk out plainly this way to God!) I will (in my thinking) stand upon my post of observation and station myself on the tower or fortres, and will watch to see what He will say within me, and what answer I will make (as His mouthpiece) to the perplexities of my complaint against Him.” – Habakkuk 2:1 AMP

I have been much of a talkative, the Prophet seemed to say, I spoke too soon and much too much; only for my words to come out foolish and out of place. I have learnt my lesson and will be more careful next time to “muse”, to meditate, consider, ponder, over what I hear, and depend on God for the answer I will give, as His spokesman. 

“…. and will watch to see what He will say within me.” – Habakkuk 2:1b  



He considers his speech and the possible consequences.

“…… and what answer I will make as His mouthpiece.” – Habbakuk 2:1c

The process of “musing“, pondering, is the process of waiting to hear His word of instruction; His word of direction, which comes like fire.

“Is not my word like a fire? saith the LORD?” – Jeremiah 23:29a.

While musing; waiting for instruction, “the fire burned“, signifying the entrance of His words, bringing light and direction.

“The entrance of thy words giveth light; it giveth understanding to the simple.” – Psalms 119:130.

This word shines a light on our path through the darkness, and uncertain terrain of this world, showing us where to follow, what to do. 

The Psalmist said “Then“:

“…… then I spoke with my tongue.” (Psalms 39:3).

Even in other tongues!

The “speaking” comes after the word of instruction or direction has been given.
Good success is a product of walking along the path of this revelation. (Joshua 1:8)
That was the path Elijah walked. His instruction to fill the trench with water (1 Kings 18:33) was not his. It was born out of divine direction. He did not pray his mind or will. As a vessel empty of self, all that poured from him on Mount Carmel were sourced from the Holy Spirit.

“Likewise the Spirit also helpeth our infirmities: for we know not what we should pray for as we ought: but the Spirit itself maketh intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.” (Romans 8:26).

Elijah did not depend on his ability; he depended on the leading of the Holy Spirit. 
We know not WHAT to pray as we OUGHT (should). The WHAT and the HOW of prayer are not ours. 

Many parade themselves as “prayer warriors”, “prayer giants” as though the ability and direction of prayer is theirs. 

A regenerated mind humbles himself before God, and even in prayer he does not lean on his own understanding. 

When we forget about ourselves in His presence, His fire will fall; making us speak. 

The Water represents the Holy Spirit and His peace that surrounds our heart, like the mountains surround Jerusalem. 
Let us learn to depend on Him; He is our guide, our comforter, our shield and buckler. He is our Rock of defence and our Rock of offence. He also will bring us to the fullness of God’s plan for us individually. Let us draw closer to Him for He is the friend that sticks closer than a brother. And , let us obey Him, no matter how “wise” or “foolish” his instruction may be.

Shalom!

  

