image

I was in a bus sometime ago, and sitting in front of my seat was this lady reading a book. Curious to know what book she read I peered into it. She was on the chapter that said “think big!”
Sometimes I get wonder what to believe, especially as a Christian. We are asked to think big of ourselves. We shouldn’t see ourselves as low, insignificant or small. “Think big! God has made you the head and not the tail! You are the first not the last! Take charge!” (A lie begets another lie!)
The bible asks me to think soberly about myself.
“For through the grace given to me, I say, to every man that is among you, not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think; but to think soberly, according as God hath dealt to every man the measure of faith.” (Romans 12:3).
It advises me not to think more highly about myself than I ought to. It goes further to tell me that I am not in charge but God is! How do I marry what I am hearing with what the Spirit is saying?!
Many believers are in this dilemma and have been left confused! Going through Genesis 10 and 11, I ponder what message Nimrod gave the sons of men to “motivate” and move them into building a mighty tower; a thing that made God take notice; not only of the tower but also the brain behind it – Niimrod!
“And Cush begat Nimrod: he began to be a mighty one in the earth. He was a mighty hunter BEFORE the LORD: wherefore it is said, Even as Nimrod the mighty hunter BEFORE the LORD.” (Genesis 10:8-9 Emphasis added)
Left to human standard it was a success!. They achieved! They prospered! They attained! But like every other thing that does not have its origin in God, it was short-lived!
Indeed, we can “achieve” whatever we conceive, wIth a POSITIVE MENTAL ATTITUDE, But what is the life span?
Note the word CONCEIEVE; a key word in PMA, it means to receive something in the womb of your spirit! Like a pregnant woman that receives the seed of the man, something she is INCAPABLE OF PRODUCING of herself, most of us, because of the “motivation” message we hear, receive seed (ideas) that are not of God!
This is where the danger lies! Whose seed (word or idea) have you “conceived”? Who is the source or father of your conception? What spirit is backing your conception?
Only that which is birthed and conceived from the heart of God can survive the storms of this world.
“For whatever is born of God, overcometh the world: and this is the victory that overcometh the world, even our faith.” (1 John 5:4).
This is where our victory is: doing what we see Him do!
“For from him, and by him, and to him are all things: to whom be glory for ever. Amen.” (Romans 11:36).

